Homeschool laws · State guide

Homeschooling in New Hampshire

Since July 1, 2026, New Hampshire requires no notice, testing or records for home education; an optional declaration is needed only when withdrawing from public school or using public school programs.

Last checkedAgainst Statute + state sources

New Hampshire at a glanceLevel: No notice

Notice to the state
No
None as of July 1, 2026. An optional declaration is required only when withdrawing from a public school or to access public school programs (RSA 193-A:3, as amended by 2026, ch. 297).
Testing
No
None; the former evaluation provisions (RSA 193-A:6) were repealed effective July 1, 2026.
Record-keeping
Not required
None required; the state may not treat a lack of notice, records, evaluations or assessments as a failure to provide education in RSA 169-C proceedings (RSA 193-A:4, V).
Immunization
Required, no proof needed
State law requires immunization for children living in New Hampshire (RSA 141-C:20-a, I), but homeschoolers don't have to keep or submit proof. School enrollment requires proof or an exemption.
Required subjects
None specified
Instruction time
Not specified; dates and hours need not match the district calendar
RSA 193-A:4, III
Parent qualifications
None stated
Compulsory school age
6 to under 18
RSA 193-A:1, II definition of child

Ways to homeschool here: Home education program (RSA 193-A)

Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.

Overview

HB 1268 (Chapter 297, 2026) rewrote RSA 193-A, recognizing a parent’s right to direct their child’s education and barring state and local officials from adopting policies governing home educated students except for access to public school courses and programs. Information submitted about a home education program is confidential (RSA 193-A:4, VI). A parent may issue an optional certificate of completion, and the commissioner will issue one within 30 days of receiving the parent’s certificate (RSA 193-A:5).

Requirements at a glance

  • Notice: As of July 1, 2026, no notice is required. An optional declaration of home education (child’s name, birth date and current address, signed by a parent) is required only upon withdrawal from a public school or to access public school programs under RSA 193:1-c. (RSA 193-A:1, 193-A:3, as amended by 2026, ch. 297)
  • Testing or assessment: None; the former evaluation provisions (RSA 193-A:6) were repealed effective July 1, 2026.
  • Records: None required; the state may not treat a lack of notice, records, evaluations or assessments as a failure to provide education in RSA 169-C proceedings (RSA 193-A:4, V).
  • Subjects: None specified
  • Instruction time: Not specified; dates and hours need not match the district calendar (RSA 193-A:4, III)
  • Parent/teacher qualifications: None stated
  • Compulsory attendance ages: 6 to under 18 (RSA 193-A:1, II definition of child)

Sources

This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.