Homeschool laws · State guide
Homeschooling in South Dakota
South Dakota requires a one-time Alternative Instruction Notification per child (updated after certain changes); there is no testing, and instructors need not be certified.
South Dakota at a glanceLevel: Low
- Notice to the state
- Yes
- File an Alternative Instruction Notification with the Department of Education or local district within 30 days of starting. Once per child; update within 30 days of a district move or school enrollment (SDCL 13-27-7).
- Testing
- No
- None in statute.
- Record-keeping
- Not required
- No portfolio or academic records required. A birth certificate (or Department of Health affidavit) is needed only within 30 days of first enrolling in a public or nonpublic school (SDCL 13-27-3.1).
- Immunization
- Not required
- Immunization rules apply to school admission, not home-based alternative instruction (SDCL 13-28-7.1). Children entering public or nonpublic school must meet the rules or qualify for an exemption.
- Required subjects
- Yes, 3
- Language arts (basic skills), Mathematics (basic skills), Instruction leading to mastery of the English language
- Instruction time
- Not specified
- Parent qualifications
- Instructor need not be certified; no person may instruct more than 22 children
- SDCL 13-27-3
- Compulsory school age
- Ages 5–6 by September 1 and older, until 18, graduation, or excused/withdrawn as provided; kindergarten before 7
- SDCL 13-27-1
Ways to homeschool here: Alternative instruction (SDCL 13-27-3) · Nonpublic school
Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.
Overview
Alternative instruction must cover the basic skills of language arts and mathematics and lead to mastery of English (SDCL 13-27-3). Districts must allow alternative-instruction students to participate in activities in their resident district on the same eligibility terms as enrolled students (SDCL 13-36-7, per SD DOE).
Legal options
- Alternative instruction (SDCL 13-27-3)
- Nonpublic school
Requirements at a glance
- Notice: File an Alternative Instruction Notification (on the Department of Education’s form, online or on paper) with the Department of Education or the local district within 30 days of beginning alternative instruction. Required once per child; an updated notification is due within 30 days of moving to a different school district or enrolling in a public or nonpublic school. (SDCL 13-27-3; 13-27-7)
- Testing or assessment: None in statute.
- Records: No general portfolio or academic record requirement for alternative instruction. A birth certificate is not required for alternative instruction; a certified copy or Department of Health affidavit is required within 30 days of initial public or nonpublic school enrollment (SDCL 13-27-3.1; SD DOE FAQ). School activities require a previous-semester transcript and may require proof of age (SD DOE).
- Subjects: Language arts (basic skills), Mathematics (basic skills), Instruction leading to mastery of the English language
- Instruction time: Not specified
- Parent/teacher qualifications: Instructor need not be certified; no person may instruct more than 22 children (SDCL 13-27-3)
- Compulsory attendance ages: Ages 5–6 by September 1 and older, until 18, graduation, or excused/withdrawn as provided; kindergarten before 7 (SDCL 13-27-1)
Sources
This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.