Homeschool laws · State guide
Homeschooling in Texas
Texas treats home schools as private schools: no routine notice, testing or registration, but the course of study must include reading, spelling, grammar, math and good citizenship.
Texas at a glanceLevel: No notice
- Notice to the state
- No
- None required; TEA does not register home schools. A district may ask parents for a written letter of assurance, and parents should give written notice when withdrawing from public school (TEA).
- Testing
- No
- None.
- Record-keeping
- Not required
- None required.
- Immunization
- Required, no proof needed
- State law requires every child to be immunized (Health & Safety Code §161.004), but homeschoolers don't have to show or keep proof. DSHS excludes homeschools from school immunization rules.
- Required subjects
- Yes, 1
- Reading, spelling, grammar, mathematics and good citizenship (Tex. Educ. Code §25.086(a)(1); TEA Home School Policy Letter).
- Instruction time
- Not specified
- Parent qualifications
- None stated
- Compulsory school age
- 6 (or younger if previously enrolled in first grade) until the 19th birthday
- Tex. Educ. Code §25.085(b)
Ways to homeschool here: Home school as a private school (Tex. Educ. Code §25.086(a)(1), as interpreted in Leeper)
Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.
Overview
TEA explains that home schooling has been a legal alternative since 1994, when the Texas Supreme Court upheld a ruling (Leeper) that children taught at home are exempt from compulsory attendance to the same extent as private school students. TEA does not regulate, monitor, approve, register or accredit home school programs. Texas considers completing a home school education equivalent to graduating from public high school for undergraduate admissions at Texas institutions (TEA).
Legal options
- Home school as a private school (Tex. Educ. Code §25.086(a)(1), as interpreted in Leeper)
Requirements at a glance
- Notice: None required; TEA does not register or approve home schools. A district that becomes aware of a student who may be home schooled may request a written letter of assurance from the parents. (TEA) Parents withdrawing a student from public school should provide written notice using withdrawal forms or a letter. (TEA Home School Policy Letter)
- Testing or assessment: None.
- Records: None required.
- Subjects: Reading, spelling, grammar, mathematics and good citizenship (Tex. Educ. Code §25.086(a)(1); TEA Home School Policy Letter).
- Instruction time: Not specified
- Parent/teacher qualifications: None stated
- Compulsory attendance ages: 6 (or younger if previously enrolled in first grade) until the 19th birthday (Tex. Educ. Code §25.085(b))
Sources
This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.
Statutes read on Justia; the official Texas statutes site renders text with JavaScript and did not return content to automated fetching.