Homeschool laws · State guide

Homeschooling in Wyoming

Since July 1, 2025, Wyoming no longer requires homeschool families to submit a curriculum; the program must still offer a sequentially progressive curriculum in seven basic subjects.

Last checkedAgainst Statute + state sources

Wyoming at a glanceLevel: No notice

Notice to the state
No
None since July 1, 2025 (HB 46). To withdraw a child under 18 without telling the district it is in a home-based program, meet a counselor or administrator in person and give written consent (W.S. 21-4-102(c)).
Testing
No
None in statute.
Record-keeping
Not required
None required.
Immunization
Required
Home-based programs count as schools under immunization rules. Keep proof of vaccination, immunity, or an approved medical or religious waiver (Immunization Rules, Ch. 1, §3; Ch. 3; Ch. 4, §§4–5).
Required subjects
Yes, 7
Reading, Writing, Mathematics, Civics, History, Literature, Science
Instruction time
Not specified for home-based programs
the attendance statute refers to the time public schools are in session
Parent qualifications
None stated; instruction by a parent or legal guardian or a person they designate
W.S. 21-4-101(a)(v)
Compulsory school age
7th birthday by August 1 (or September 15 under an approved early kindergarten request) until the 16th birthday or completion of 10th grade
W.S. 21-4-102(a)

Ways to homeschool here: Home-based educational program (W.S. 21-4-101(a)(v), 21-4-102(b)) · Private school

Choice Homeschool works hard to keep every state guide accurate and up to date, but laws change. If something here has changed or is missing, please let us know, ideally with a link to the official source, and we’ll recheck it.

Overview

Wyoming treats home-based educational programs as private schools providing a basic academic educational program (W.S. 21-4-101(a)(iii), (vi)). HB 46 (2025) removed the annual curriculum submission and the rule that failing to submit was prima facie evidence of noncompliance. A child in the state ESA program who notifies the district complies with compulsory attendance (W.S. 21-4-102(d)).

Requirements at a glance

  • Notice: No curriculum submission or annual notice since July 1, 2025 (HB 46). To withdraw a child under 18 from a district without notifying it of enrollment in a home-based program, a parent must meet in person with a counselor or administrator and give written consent. (W.S. 21-4-102(c); WDE)
  • Testing or assessment: None in statute.
  • Records: None required.
  • Subjects: Reading, Writing, Mathematics, Civics, History, Literature, Science
  • Instruction time: Not specified for home-based programs (the attendance statute refers to the time public schools are in session)
  • Parent/teacher qualifications: None stated; instruction by a parent or legal guardian or a person they designate (W.S. 21-4-101(a)(v))
  • Compulsory attendance ages: 7th birthday by August 1 (or September 15 under an approved early kindergarten request) until the 16th birthday or completion of 10th grade (W.S. 21-4-102(a))

Sources

This page summarizes the statutes and official pages listed in the sources block, as read on the last-checked date. It is general information, not legal advice; confirm current requirements with your state or local education agency.

Statutes read on Justia (2025 Wyoming Statutes); the Legislature’s bill summary and WDE page confirm the 2025 changes.